Monday, July 26, 2010

CMP celebrating silver jubilee

Thiruvananthapuram: The Communist Marxist Party (CMP), a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF), is celebrating its silver jubilee from Tuesday.

The party was formed on July 27, 1986 in Thrissur by a motley group of leaders, led by M.V. Raghavan, who were expelled from the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) for touting an alternative line.

As far as the CMP is concerned, it has been a struggle for survival during the past 25 years, facing opposition from the CPI(M).

The party leadership owes a lot to veteran Congress leader K. Karunakaran who found Mr. Raghavan a good ally. The fledgling party was promptly given a place in the UDF and in the 1987 elections, Mr. Raghavan was given the ticket from Azheekode and won it with a slender lead.

No comments: