Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Media awards announced

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Sub-editor Jimmy Philip has won the State media award, 2009, for general reporting for his reports on concerns about the dying Earth published in Deepika from November 24 to 30.

Chief reporter R. Samban bagged the award for development reporting for his coverage of indebtedness among farmers for Deshabhimani (September 22-15).

The award for news photography went to senior photographer Manoj Chemancherry for his picture �Irumbaliyumo Eekanneeril published in Malayala Manorama on October 1.

Cartoonist T.K. Sujith of Kerala Kaumudi won the award for the best cartoon for the third year in succession. The qualifying entry was �Navarasangal 2009 published on December 29.

Asianets R. Ajaya Ghosh got the award for the best television news report. His report highlighted unethical methods followed by medical college doctors to earn money (September 14).

Television cameraman T.R. Rathesh of Indiavision won award for his camera work portraying the dangers of urbanisation (October 29). G. Vijayadas ( Indiavision) got the award for editing (of news story �Theyyam broadcast on November 7).

The works of V.V. Vinod of Asianet Cable Vision and Nanda Kumar of Manorama News earned special mention and praise from the jury.

Press Academy chairman S.R. Sakthidaran, secretary (Information and Public Relations) T.K. Manojkumar and Director of Information and Public Relations M. Nandakumar announced the awards in the capital on Tuesday.

No comments: